McKinnon Prize selection panel revealed

Members of the 2022 Shortlisting Committee and Selection Panel represent the political, government, media, non-profit and corporate sectors. Image: Marcus Reubenstein\unsplash

A former Premier, a former Federal Government Minister and the CEO of one of Australia’s leading children’s charities are some of the leaders who will select the 2022 McKinnon Prize in Political Leadership.

The 2022 McKinnon Prize Shortlisting Committee will be chaired by Danielle Wood, CEO of the Grattan Institute, and includes:

  • Phillip Coorey, political editor for the Australian Financial Review
  • James Copsey, Partner at KPMG Australia
  • David Cross, CEO of the Blueprint Institute
  • Patricia Karvelas, current affairs journalist and radio presenter at the ABC
  • Ben Oquist, Director Climate and ESG at DPG Advisory Solutions
  • Michael Perusco, CEO of Berry Street
  • Nicholas Reece, Principal Fellow at the Melbourne School of Government, University of Melbourne
  • John Scales, Founder of JWS Research
  • Innes Willox AM, Chief Executive of the Australian Industry Group.

Former prime minister Julia Gillard AC and former New South Wales premier Mike Baird AO have also been announced as Inaugural Patrons of the McKinnon Prize.

Ms Gillard, a former selection panellist, said: “The McKinnon Prize Selection Panel will be looking for positive impact through vision, collaboration, ethical behaviour and courage across all levels of government.”

“From my point of view, ethical behaviour is particularly important. If we want young people to look up to our leaders, displaying honesty, integrity and compassion is key to achieving this.”

Members of the 2022 Shortlisting Committee and Selection Panel represent the political, government, media, non-profit and corporate sectors, ensuring a range of expertise and perspectives inform the rigorous two-stage deliberation process.

The 2022 Selection Panel is chaired by Catherine Livingstone AO FAA FTSE, business leader and Chancellor of the University of Technology Sydney. The panel includes:

  • The Hon John Brumby AO, former premier of Victoria
  • Professor Tom Calma AO, Chancellor of the University of Canberra and Kungarakan Elder
  • Peta Credlin AO, political commentator at Sky News Australia
  • Caitlin Figueiredo, Co-Chair of the Australian Youth Affairs Coalition and Founder and CEO of Jasiri Australia
  • Dr Alan Finkel AC, former chief scientist of Australia
  • Kelly O’Dwyer, former cabinet minister and member of the Australian Parliament
  • Dr Martin Parkinson AC PSM, Chancellor of Macquarie University and former senior public servant
  • Annika Smethurst, state political editor for The Age
  • Doug Taylor, CEO of The Smith Family
  • Professor Michael Wesley, Deputy Vice-Chancellor International, University of Melbourne.

Mr Baird said the Shortlisting Committee and Selection Panel have the opportunity to shine a light on the important work of elected representatives around the country.

“The McKinnon Prize recognises outstanding political leaders in Australia who strive for positive outcomes for their constituents,” Mr Baird said.

“Last year presented a unique set of challenges for our leaders, with many stand-out displays of leadership, both on the domestic and international stage. The McKinnon Prize’s Selection Panel faces a considerable task ahead.”

The 2021 McKinnon Political Leader of the Year was the former House of Representatives Speaker Tony Smith and the McKinnon Emerging Political Leader of the year was the Mayor of Ipswich, Teresa Harding.

Recipients of the 2022 McKinnon Prize in Political Leadership will be announced in March 2023.

The McKinnon Prize in Political Leadership, an initiative of the University of Melbourne and the Susan McKinnon Foundation, recognises political leaders at all levels of government. The McKinnon Prize seeks to highlight the importance of political leadership and generate discussion on expectations on political leadership in Australia.

Visit the McKinnon Prize website to find out more about the prize.