Scholarships help agriculture students aim for the top

Four University of Adelaide students have been announced as recipients of the 2022 Horizon Scholarship. The scholarships aim to develop the next generation of rural leaders.

Top left: Darcy MacCartie. Top right: Ophelia Neumann. Bottom left: Ayla Christophers. Bottom right: Emily Chambers.

Ayla Christophers, Darcy MacCartie and Emily Chambers, who are studying for a Bachelor of Agricultural Sciences and Ophelia Neumann, who is a Bachelor of Veterinary Technology student, have each received a $10,000 bursary over two years in recognition of their commitment to agriculture, leadership potential and career aspirations. Only 20 students from around the country received awards.

Ayla, who is studying at the University’s Waite Campus, was thrilled to receive the scholarship and thanked the Cotton Research and Development Corporation (CRDC), which is supporting her Horizon journey.

“I’m so excited to be awarded an AgriFutures Horizon Scholarship – not only will it provide me with the opportunity to connect with industry professionals but I will also gain valuable hands-on experience in the cotton industry,” she said.

“I’m really looking forward to meeting the other students involved in the program, learning more about the challenges and opportunities across the agricultural sector and how I can be a future leader in Australia’s rural industries and communities.”

The students will complete two weeks of industry placement each year, made possible by their sponsor.

They will also attend a four-day workshop focused on leadership and personal development. The workshop will feature special guest speakers, industry experts and field trips, and also provide the opportunity to network, meet sponsors and discuss innovations and challenges in the agricultural sector.

The AgriFutures Horizon Scholarship is an initiative supported by seven research and development Corporations (RDC’s), along with the Cooperative Research Centre for Developing Northern Australia and FMC Australia.