Pathways to Waikato qualifications now available in over 30 countries worldwide

Pathway programmes leading to direct degree-level entry at the University of Waikato are now available in more than 30 countries worldwide, thanks to a partnership between the University, Education New Zealand and UK-based qualifications provider NCUK.

Waikato has joined the partnership alongside New Zealand’s seven other universities, allowing students to begin study towards New Zealand bachelor’s and master’s degrees in their home countries. The agreement will leverage NCUK’s quality-assured global network of 81 recognised education providers or ‘study centres’.

Students enrolling on NCUK programmes in 2021 would be able to start their studies at the University of Waikato in 2022, once they complete one of three relevant NCUK pathway qualifications:

  • The International Foundation Year (IFY), allowing students to enter year one of a bachelor’s degree  (recognised as equivalent to ‘University Entrance’ by New Zealand’s University Quality Assurance Committee)
  • The International Year One (IYOne), allowing students to enter year two of a business or engineering bachelor’s degree
  • The Master’s Preparation Programme (PMP), allowing students entry to a range of master’s programmes

As part of the partnership, the University of Waikato has committed to supporting bursaries for all students progressing to Waikato from NCUK pathway programmes in 2021 and 2022.

For further information on entry requirements and bursaries, please visit our dedicated information page.

NCUK study centres will start promoting pathway qualifications to study at New Zealand universities from December for the next cohort intake in March 2021.

NCUK is a not-for-profit foundation established by a group of leading UK universities, with 25 years’ experience in designing and quality-assuring pathway qualifications for more than 35,000 students to date.

Further information on the New Zealand Global Education Pathways initiative can be found here.