Prof. Philip T. Krein will receive the 2021 IEEE Transportation Technologies Award

Professor Philip T. Krein, the Executive Dean of ZJU-UIUC Institute, Zhejiang University, will receive the 2021 IEEE Transportation Technologies Award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Prof. Krein will be the eighth winner of the award since its establishment, and the first winner from a university in mainland China. The award recognizes Prof. Krein’s continuing contributions to electric vehicle battery management, hybrid system optimization, and other aspects of transportation electrification.

 For nearly a century, the IEEE Awards Program has paid tribute to technical professionals whose exceptional achievements and outstanding contributions have made a lasting impact on technology, society, and the engineering profession. For advances in technologies within the fields of interest in the IEEE as applied in transportation systems, the IEEE Transportation Technologies Award was established in 2011.

Prof. Krein is a leading expert on power electronics, machines, drives, transportation electrification, and electrical energy, with emphasis on nonlinear control approaches. He is a past chair of the IEEE Transportation Electrification Community. When discussing the growing future of electric vehicles, Krein noted that the challenge with electric vehicles is “to integrate them much more completely with the energy systems, with controls, advanced capabilities, and a certain amount of intelligence.” “It’s not just about vehicles that ultimately can drive themselves, it’s also about vehicles that make the best use of a limited energy source such as a battery pack and about vehicles that can take advantage of safety functions and potential added features possible with electrification.”

The IEEE is the world’s largest association of technical professionals, with more than 420,000 members in over 175 countries.

Source:ZJU-UIUC Institute